23 Things – Facebook

Topic 18 is Online Communities, with the emphasis on Facebook. I have had a FB account for a couple of years. I dip into it periodically, and it’s been a great way to catch up with old school friends. I see why people find it addictive, but I have trouble enough finding time to keep up with my friends within geographic proximity, let alone those scattered far and wide.

Nevertheless, it has some tools that I quite like. For example, I’ve recently used the events tool to start organising the Thursday night dinner for eDayz 09. I can see that as a way for libraries to build communities around themselves and to promote events. It’s also useful for research. Search results inside FB will pull up results from FB groups, posts by one’s friends as well as web results. For a person with a good network, the results from friends’ posts will yield good results.

Leave a Reply

