Five books meme continued…

Keep the meme ideas up, folks. My brain dun emptied at the moment……

1. The book I’m currently reading:

I have two on the go at the moment. The first is Behind the Thistle (David Barnes and Peter Burns) and is a series of interviews wih over 70 former Scots international rugby representatives. This belongs to a friend of mine, and I’m conscious of the fact that I’ve had it for a long time. I’d like to give it back to him before his birthday in July. The other is Soldier of the Mist (Gene Wolfe) – the story of Latro, a Roman mercenary who fought in the army of Xerxes at Plataea. Suffering a blow to the head, he cannot remember his name, or what happened the previous day, so he writes down his experiences on a scroll. In addition, he can see gods, mytical creatures and ghosts. it’s and interesting experience seeing characters regularly re-drawn as Latro is forced to re-construct his world each morning.

2. The last book I finished:

Lion of the Sun (Harry Sidebottom) – third in the Lion of the Sun series. The central character is an Angle who has adopted the name Ballista (and partly based on a historical character) and has taken service in the Roman army. Set during the civil wars that wracked the empire during the 3rd century, Ballista gets caught up in the ensuing political intrigues. He begins this nobook a prisoner of the Persian king Shapur, and becomes (briefly) emperor of east. Lots of gritty military type activity, though there are a number of repetitive formulations that tire when you hear them for the umpteenth time.

3. The next book I want to read:

As I usually have 2-3 on the go at once, I’m going to mention 2. The first is Bringing the Water (Moya Costello and Barry Westburg). This is something that I’ve borrowed from the campus I’m studying at. It’s billed as ‘new writing from South Australia’, and no doubt was in 1993. The other is Jamaica Inn (Daphne du Maurier) – my wife bought a copy of this some time ago, and I’ve been meaning to get around to it but its always managed to slip off the pile.

4. The last book I bought:

The last new book was the previously mentioned Lion of the Sun (Harry Sidebottom). The last second-hand book was Lois McMaster Bujold’s The Curse of Chalion.

5. The last book I was given:

It may have been A Corner of a Foreign Field – An Indian History of a British Sport (Ramachandra Guha) or My Reading Life (Bob Carr)

Leave a Reply

