The Quiet Australian

It was a quiet day, partly because I was at home looking after my wife, who is recovering from a (not serious) operation. On the excitement-meter today were three packages:

1) the memoirs of General James Longstreet (Confederate corps commander during the American Civil War): from Manassas to Appomattox. One day I’d like to write a Flashman novel that covers his Civil War exploits, so this kind of constitutes research.

2) a boardgame on the Kokoda track campaign called Soldiers of the Rising Sun

3) most exciting of all is a copy of a book that I lost many years ago: Mika Waltari’s Sinhue; The Egyptian. I had a 1950s hardback copy (sans dust-jacket), and my wife has her own copy. She tells me that the French translation reads better than the English….. Figured it was time to use (sparingly) my new CC. Woohoo!!!

Leave a Reply

