Reading

I’ve taken part in the last two Goodreads Challenges, and am reasonably happy with my progress so far. One of my goals was to increase the number of reviews that I did, partly for the enforced writing practice, and partly because I wanted to reflect on why I did or didn’t like particular titles. I did reasonably well at the beginning of the year but have slipped behind quite a lot on that front since then. Oh well……

So what am I reading at the moment? I’ve almost finished Frances Mayes’ A year in the world. One of the things that I really like about her work is the passion that she feels for travel, which I share (work is really a way for me to pay for overseas trips). It features a series of short trips to different parts of Europe and North Africa over a five-year period. One thing that she and her husband do is imagine themselves moving into a region and becoming part of the local fabric, absorbing the cuisine, adapting themselves to the local culture. My wife and I always imagine ourselves upping sticks and living a different life away from the day-to-day hurley-burley (which always includes trips to the local real estate agent/immobilier/whatever. The other things that I like about this book are the snippets of local literature that add a lovely texture to the land-and-food-scapes.

Next on the pile is Melanie Casey’s Hindsight.  I’m not a detective novel person per se, but I do like a bit of paranormal fiction. And besides, Melanie is the lecturer for my Professional Writing module for this term (Examine the Writer and the Law – lots of lovely stuff like copyright, defamation and contracts). I’ll start it this weekend, and should finish by next Thursday (which is our last class). Maybe that will give me a good excuse for handing my assignment up late….

20130607_131333

One thought on “Reading

  1. Oh, well done! I’m too lazy to write reviews – I even got cranky when my Goodreads app started forcing me to give a star rating when I completed a book. Maybe when #blogjune and #commentjuly are over I might consider some book reviews…
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

